spacer   My Account for spacer

Dover, Del. (May 24, 2019) --- A NCAA Tournament Final Four women’s bowling team, 12-time MEAC track and field champion and the coach who led a resurgence of the football program in the early 1980s highlight the 2019 Delaware State University Athletics Hall-of-Fame class announced today.

A total of 10 individuals and one team will be honored during the annual hall-of-fame ceremony on Nov. 15 at the Martin Luther King Student Center on the DSU campus. The class will also be recognized during the Hornets’ home football contest against Norfolk State the following day.

Among the Hornets’ 2019 Hall-of-Fame honorees is the 2008-09 women’s bowling team, which captured the first Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference championship and NCAA Tournament berth in team history. The team was also the first in Delaware State athletics history to win a NCAA Tournament contest, posting two victories in the 2009 tourney before falling in the national semifinals. The team also climbed to No. 4 in the national polls, while head coach Kim Terrell-Kearney was selected as MEAC and NTCA (national) Coach-of-the-Year.

Donte Holmes, one of the most decorated track and field performers in MEAC history, has also been selected for hall-of-fame induction. Holmes claimed eight individual conference championships in the 800-meter run and was a member of four MEAC championship relay teams from 2008-to-2012.

The 2019 DSU Hall-of-Fame class also includes former head football coach Joe Purzycki, who earned national recognition after leading the resurgence in Delaware State’s gridiron program following an inauspicious beginning as a Division I-AA program. In his third season as Hornets’ head coach, Purzycki led the team to a 7-3-1 overall record and first national ranking in school history in 1983. He was selected as MEAC and Pigskin Club of Washington, D.C., Coach-of-the-Year in 1983 and his 1984 squad  tied a (then) school record for wins in a season (8-2). Purzycki coached 11 All-MEAC First Team players and six Division I-AA All-Americans in four seasons at DSU, including Black College Football and MEAC Hall-of-Fame inductee John Taylor, who stared in the NFL following his DSU career.

The No. 2 scorer and No. 3 rebounder in Delaware State women’s basketball history Shervon Hunter will also join the Hornet Hall-of-Fame. Hunter tallied 1,846 points and 980 rebounds in her four-year Lady Hornet career. She held the school’s career scoring record from 1992 to Feb. 2019. A three-time All-MEAC selection, Hunter helped lead the Lady Hornets’ to their first two MEAC Tournament championship game appearances in 1989 and ’90.

The new DSU Hall-of-Fame class also includes former football offensive line greats Preston Steward and Nigel Dunn, along with defensive standout Kenneth Wright.

Steward was a two-time All-MEAC First Team center (1990, ’91) and Black College All-America (1990). He was a key member of the offensive line that paved the way to the Hornets’ 1990 NCAA Div. I-AA national rushing title (300.2 yards per game) and a member of three MEAC championship teams (1988, ’89, ’91).

Dunn was an All-MEAC First Team selection and Division I-AA All-America Honorable Mention in 1983. He helped lead the Hornets to a 7-3-1 record in 1983, the team’s first winning season in six years, and helped Johnny Rowe become Delaware State’s first 1,000-yard rusher in 1981 (1,039 yards).

Wright was a mainstay of the Hornets’ early-to-mid 1970s defense.  A two-time All-MEAC linebacker (1973, ’75), he was the team’s leading tackler in 1973 and ’75 and 1974 Outstanding College Athletes of America honoree.  

The Delaware State Hall-of-Fame will also welcome men’s basketball great Andre Matthews and softball standout Andrea Waters as members.

Matthews was the Hornets’ sixth all-time leading scorer with 1,427 points when his career ended (currently eighth). The 1999-2000 MEAC Rookie-of-the-Year, he was an All-MEAC First Team selection in 2002 and a two-time All-MEAC Second Team pick (2001 & ‘03). In addition, Matthews was the 1999-2000 MEAC field goal percentage leader (.599).

Waters, a three-time National Fastpitch Coaches Association Scholar-Athlete (2008-10), was an All-MEAC First Team selection in 2009 and Second Team pick in 2010. She was a starting outfielder on the Hornets’ lone MEAC champion and NCAA Tournament team in 2008. Her career stats include: .320 batting avg. (189-for-591) 15 home runs (5th in team history), 120 RBI; and 63-for-69 in stolen base attempts (5th in team history).

Two individuals, Delaware State University Trustee/alumnus John Ridgeway and former Hornet student-athlete Tracey Martin, will be inducted into the DSU Hall-of-Fame as significant contributors to the athletics program.

2019 Delaware State University Athletics Hall-of-Fame Inductees
Nigel Dunn                        Football   
Donte Holmes                   Men’s Track & Field
Shervon Hunter                 Women’s Basketball
Tracey Martin                    Contributor
Andre Matthews                Men’s Basketball
Joe Purzycki                      Football Coach
John Ridgeway                  Contributor
Preston Steward                Football
Andrea Waters                   Softball
Kenneth Wright                  Football
Special Recognition
2008-09                                 MEAC champion / NCAA Tournament Final 4 women’s bowling team            

Returning Customers
Donations, Hornets Nest users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.
more from
Grotto Pizza
M&T Bank
Got Milk?
Delaware Highway Safety
Blue Cross Blue Shield
College Savings
Atlantic Sun