Dover, Del. (July 11, 2017) – The Delaware State women's lacrosse team will begin a new era as a member of the Southern Conference beginning in the 2018 season.

The Southern Conference announced today the addition of women's lacrosse as its 22nd sport and that Delaware State, Central Michigan and Detroit Mercy will join the league as associate members for the upcoming season.

The new additions will join full Southern Conference members Furman, Mercer and Wofford to form a six-team league with an automatic bid to the NCAA championship tournament.

Delaware State was a member of the Atlantic Sun Conference in 2017 after competing as a NCAA Division I independent for four seasons after the team was formed in 2013.    

Central Michigan and Detroit Mercy are also former Atlantic Sun women's lacrosse members.

The Southern Conference, headquartered in Spartanburg, S.C., is in its 96th year of intercollegiate competition, making it the fifth oldest NCAA Division I collegiate athletic association.  

 (story contains information from the Southern Conference)

Delaware State lacrosse