Delaware State has will induct 11 individuals into its Athletics Hall-of-Fame this fall.  The list includes five former football greats, two baseball standouts, the school’s fifth-leading men’s basketball scorer, an All-MEAC and Academic All-America softball performer, and the first hall-of-fame selection from DSU’s equestrian team.

The 2018 Hornet Hall-of-Fame class will be honored during a ceremony on Nov. 16 on the DSU campus. The class will also be recognized during the Hornets’ 2018 football finale against Virginia University of Lynchburg the following day.

Among the 2018 honorees is Russell Reeves, the defensive leader of the Hornets’ 2007 MEAC champion and NCAA Tournament football team. Reeves was selected as the 2007 MEAC Defensive Player-of-the-Year by the Pigskin Club of Washington and ranks third in team history in total tackles.

Anthony Sharpe
, Delaware State’s all-time tackles leader, has also been selected for hall-of-fame induction. Sharpe tallied a school-record 350 tackles in his career and ranks fifth in team history with 21.5 sacks.

Delaware State’s first 1,000-yard passer, Eddie Epps, will also join the hall-of-fame. Epps passed for a then school-record 1,228 yards to help lead the Hornets to a seven-game win streak and an appearance in the post-season Orange Blossom Classic in 1977.

The latest DSU Hall-of-Fame class also includes Jerome Carter, a star defensive back for the Hornets before competing in the National Football League (Seattle Seahawks, Buffalo Bills, San Diego Chargers); and Calvin Mason, a three-time All-MEAC selection, twice as an offensive lineman and once at defensive tackle.

The Hornet Hall-of-Fame will also welcome former baseball greats Frank Alexander and Bret Underwood. Alexander was a two-way standout (pitcher/outfielder) for the successful Delaware State teams of the early-to-mid 1970s. Underwood, currently the head baseball coach at Wesley College in Dover, is No. 2 in team history and among the all-time MEAC leaders with 50 career home runs. He’s also the Hornets’ all-time leader with 272 hits.

Former softball standout Dr. Jessica Chrabaszcz has also received a hall-of-fame call. Chrabaszcz was an All-MEAC First Team selection after batting .352 and topping the MEAC with 18 doubles to help lead DSU to its lone MEAC championship and NCAA Tournament appearance in 2008. She was also the first student-athlete in school history selected to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Team.

Terence Hood
, Delaware State’s fifth all-time men’s basketball scorer with 1,501 points, has also been selected for hall-of-fame induction. Hood is also fourth in team history with 194 three-point field goals.

The Delaware State equestrian program will have its first hall-of-fame member with the induction of Breann Huyett, also the first rider in team history to earn All-America recognition. Huyett collected 36 Most Outstanding Performer awards in her career and posted a win percentage of .890 during her senior season.  

Long-time contributor/booster Constance Hall will also join the DSU Hall-of-Fame this year as an honorary member.

2018 Delaware State University Athletics Hall-of-Fame Inductees
Frank Alexander            Baseball   

Jerome Carter               Football
Dr. Jessica Chrabaszcz Softball
Eddie Epps                    Football
Constance Hall              Honorary
Terence Hood                Basketball
Breann Huyett               Equestrian  
Calvin Mason                Football
Russell Reeves             Football

Anthony Sharpe            Football

Bret Underwood            Baseball

Delaware State hall of fame