Dover, Del. (Aug. 27, 2016) --- The final push is underway for the purchase of 2016 Delaware State University Athletics Hall-of-Fame weekend tickets. The annual banquet and induction ceremony set for Sep. 9 at Dover Downs Hotel and Conference Center. Tickets for the event are $75 and $700 for a table of 10.

A total of 10 individuals, two posthumously, and five teams will be honored during the annual hall-of-fame ceremony. The class will also be recognized during the Hornets’ 2016 football home opener against Monmouth the following day. The new inductees, and all current hall-of-fame members, are also invited to attend a pre-game tailgate hosted by DSU President Harry L. Williams.  

All current hall-of-fame members will also be introduced prior to the Sep. 9 banquet and recognized at halftime of the football contest.  

Among the 2016 honorees is former volleyball standout and Claymont, Del., native Cassandra Joyner, the Hornets’ all-time leader with 1,272 kills. A two-time All-MEAC First Team selection, the former Concord High School star is the only player in team history with 1000 kills, 800 digs and 300 blocks.

The new DSU Hall-of-Fame class will also include two highly decorated wrestlers.

Shelton Smith was a three-time MEAC wrestling champion and all-conference selection, in addition to capturing two district titles.

Francky Francois was a two-time NCAA Wrestling Championship qualifier, earning an automatic  tournament bid as East Region 126-pound champion in 1997 and an at-large selection in the 141-pound weight class in 1999.          

Four-time CIAA pole vault champion Harold Robinson will also join the Hornet Hall-of-Fame this year. Robinson broke school and CIAA records to earn the conference championship as a freshman and successfully defended his title while setting new record marks in each of the next three years.

Former Hornet football standout defensive backs Joe Burton and Thomas Douglas have also been selected for hall-of-fame induction.

Burton, who died in 2007, was a three-time All-MEAC First Team selection and the league’s 1986 Defensive Player-of-the-Year. A 1986 Division I-AA All-America, Burton is third on the Hornets’ all-time list with 19 interceptions.

Douglas was a key member of the secondary that helped the Hornets to a No. 1 ranking among all NCAA Division II teams in fewest passing yards (64.3 pg) in 1977. He went on to compete in the Canadian Football League following his Delaware State career.

The Hornet Hall-of-Fame will also add former baseball star Clarence “Chet” Jordan to its ranks. A former All-CIAA selection, Jordan helped lead Delaware State to two conference championships (1962-63) and batted .393 as a senior in 1964.

The 2016 DSU Hall-of-Fame class will also include late University President Dr. Jerome Holland, who was credited with navigating the school through the most challenging period in its history and convincing state leaders to provide financial support that was unprecedented at the time. Holland was President of then Delaware State College from 1953-to1960.    

Long-time university contributors Jimmie and Tina Strong will also be enshrined during the hall-of-fame ceremony. The Hornet alums have contributed countless dollars, time and talent to their alma mater. The couple helped raise the largest donation ever by a DSU alumni class (’65) and has been honored as “Distinguished Alumni” by the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference.

Five Delaware State teams will also achieve hall-of-fame status this year.

Highlighting the list are the four-time MEAC champion DSU men’s and women’s cross country teams. The Hornet men and women ran to conference titles each year from 1984 to ’87, becoming the first teams in league history to win four consecutive championships.

The 1989 MEAC champion Delaware State baseball team will also be honored this year. In addition to winning the MEAC title with a 17-2 victory over Howard, the ’89 Hornets led all NCAA Division I teams with a .396 batting average (still a national record), .594 slugging percentage and in runs scored at 10.3 per game.

Delaware State’s 2004-05 MEAC champion men’s basketball team will also be saluted at this year’s hall-of-fame ceremony. The Hornets posted a last-second win over Hampton to capture the first MEAC title in team history and become the first DSU sports program to compete in a NCAA championship tournament.

DSU will also induct its 1969-70 men’s basketball team into the hall-of-fame. That season, the Hornets set team records for wins (17), win percentage (.680) and points-per-game (94.7).    

 For more information, contact the DSU ticket office at 302-857-7497.

Delaware State hall of fame