DSU’s ROMO-MARTINEZ, SELBY EARN MEAC POST-SEASON HONORS Dover, Del. (Nov. 28, 2017) --- Delaware State punter Fidel Romo-Martinez (so., Banning, Cal.) and defensive back Keyjuan Selby (jr., Bear, Del.) have been named to the 2017 All-Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Second Team, in voting by league head coaches and sports information directors announced by the league today.

2017 MEAC champion North Carolina A&T led all teams with 12 first team selections and 13 overall picks.

Romo-Martinez was tops in the MEAC and fourth among all Football Championship Subdivision punters with a 44.7 yard average. He also had 24 punts of 50-or-more yards, including a long of 62, and place 17 kicks inside the opponents’ 20-yard line this past season.

North Carolina Central senior Nathaniel Tilque was selected as the 2017 All-MEAC First Team punter.

Selby was tied for second in the MEAC with 13 passes defended (interceptions + pass break ups) and 11 pass break-ups. Selby was also tops on the Hornets with two interceptions and fourth on the team with 59 tackles (36 solo).

North Carolina A&T’s Rod Broadway was selected by his peers as 2017 MEAC Coach-of-the-Year, Howard quarterback Caylin Newton is the league’s Rookie-of-the-Year, while NCA&T senior Brandon Parker is the Offensive Lineman-of-the-Year for the third straight season.

In a partnership with the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame, the league’s Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year will be announced as part of the festivities surrounding the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, Tuesday, Dec. 5, at the Hilton Midtown in New York City. The event will be televised live on ESPN3 at 9 a.m.

Delaware State