Dover, Del. (Aug. 17, 2018) ---The Delaware State women’s golf team has been honored by the Women’s Golf Coaches Association for its improved play last season.

The Hornets are the Division I recipient of the annual Mark Laesch Award for year-to-year adjusted stroke average per individual per round. Delaware State posted an improvement of 21.5 strokes from the 2016-17 to 2017-18 seasons.

Malone University (14.52) is the Division II recipient and St. John Fisher College (41.53) was awarded from Division III.

About the Women’s Golf Coaches Association
The Women’s Golf Coaches Association, founded in 1983, is a non-profit organization representing women’s collegiate golf coaches. The WGCA was formed to encourage the playing of college golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition. Today, the WGCA represents over 600 coaches throughout the U.S. and is dedicated to educating, promoting and recognizing both its members and the student-athletes they represent.   

Delaware State golf