Dover, Del. (June 26, 2014) --- The successful 2014 Delaware State University softball and baseball seasons were applauded by state lawmakers during Wednesday’s General Assembly session at Legislative Hall.

The Hornet softball and baseball teams were presented resolutions in the House of Representatives and State Senate in honor of winning Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Northern Division championships this season.

The resolutions were sponsored by Representative Donald Blakey and Senator Brian Bushweller in their respective chambers.  

The DSU softball team was 35-17 overall (15-3 MEAC) and finished third in the MEAC Tournament during the 2014 season. Head coach Janice Savage was named MEAC Coach-of-the-Year, while outfielder Nicole Gazzola (so.), catcher Sandy Hawthorne (so.)  and outfielder Jessica Madrid (so.) were selected to the All-MEAC First Team. In addition, pitcher Tara Tursellino (fr.) was named MEAC Rookie-of-the-Year and to the All-MEAC Second Team.

The Hornet baseball team captured its third straight MEAC North title this season with a 17-7 league record (30-16 overall).

Four players - outfielder Aarron Nardone (sr.), catcher Mike Alexander (sr.), shortstop DJ Miller (sr.); and pitcher Matt McClain - were named to the 2014 All-MEAC First Team.

Delaware State was tops among all NCAA Division I baseball teams in batting average (.336) and on-base percentage (.435) during the 2014 season.    

Delaware State athletics